Waverly Seven

There was an era in American popular culture when pop music was something completely different than what it has become today; when an outstanding instrumentalist could be a pop star no less than a vocalist; when even headlining singers were expected to be complete musicians and instrumentalists were expected to be entertainers. There is evidence that this performance ethic hasn’t entirely been lost to time – Waverly Seven.

Waverly Seven is a jazz ensemble formed in 2006 comprised of hot young New York City jazz musicians who have banded together to make music that is high quality and fun. The band lineup includes saxophonists Anat Cohen and Joel Frahm, trumpeter Avishai Cohen, keyboardists Jason Lindner and Manuel Valera, who share duties on piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, and Hammond B3, bassist Barak Mori, and drummer Daniel Freedman.

The group’s debut release “YO! BOBBY”, a double CD, was released on Anzic Records in June 2007.The title alludes to the fact the CD was inspired by the performances of the legendary singer Bobby Darin who recorded all the songs on one or another of his albums. The vast majority of the 24 tracks are songs from the Great American Songbook. The tunes have been reinterpreted to highlight the impressive soloing powers of Waverly Seven’s young jazz all-stars-in-the-making. There are two special guests on the CD: Vic Juris on guitar and Scott Robinson on baritone sax.

The group played its first club appearance at The Jazz Standard in NYC on Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 to two sold out audiences. This show included special guests Russell Malone on guitar and an unannounced appearance by singer/guitarist John Pizzarelli.
 Waverly Seven aims to produce great swinging music for all time.


artist news